“This award supports outstanding young New Zealanders to access an international opportunity to develop their own leadership skills, and in turn support the development of other young people,” says Ms Kaye.

The 2017 award recipients are:

  • April McLennan (Christchurch)
  • Ashutosh Sharma (Auckland)
  • Stephanie Benseman (Wellington)
  • Rees Vinsen (Auckland).

As part of the award, the recipients will travel to China from 16 to 23 September, where they will take part in the Follow the Footsteps of Rewi Alley Programme in Shenzhen.

The scheme puts young people in front of leading Chinese tech companies to learn more about the latest innovations, trends and technology developments in China.

In addition to the Rewi Alley programme, the award recipients will visit Shanghai to network and develop connections with Chinese and New Zealand entrepreneurs.

“China is one of our largest and most important trading partners, and this will contribute to growing the level of engagement and understanding between our two countries,” said Ms Kaye.

Following their return to New Zealand, the award recipients will attend the New Zealand-China Youth Forum in Auckland on 5 November, where they will share their international experience with other attendees.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here