More than 50 South Island schools and early learning centres are closed today because severe weather warnings have been issued for the region.

Schools and early learning centres in Nelson, Marlborough, Tasman, Buller, Grey, Kaikoura and Westland districts have been closed.

Some schools, like Greymouth High School, would remain closed tomorrow, re-opening on Thursday if weather permitted.

“This is due to forecast extremely high winds and heavy rain, particularly from Tuesday afternoon until Wednesday morning,” a post on the school’s Facebook page read.

The Ministry of Education said it would be providing support where and as requested.

Ex-tropical Cyclone Gita in the northern Tasman Sea, pictured in a satellite image. Photo / NZ Standard Time picture

“In the meantime we recommend parents and whanau check their school or early childhood service websites or Facebook pages, or contact them directly to get the most up to date information,” it said.

List of schools closed:

  • Appleby School
  • Awahono School (Grey Valley)
  • Barrytown School
  • Blaketown School
  • Brooklyn School (Motueka)
  • Buller High School
  • Clifton Terrace School
  • Cobden School
  • Collingwood Area School
  • Dovedale School
  • Enner Glynn School
  • Fox Glacier School
  • Franz Josef Glacier School
  • Garin College
  • Granity School
  • Greymouth High School
  • Greymouth Main School
  • Haast School
  • Henley School (Nelson)
  • Hira School
  • Hokitika School
  • Inangahua Junction School
  • John Paul II High School
  • Kaniere School
  • Karamea Area School
  • Karoro School
  • Kokotahi-Kowhitirangi School
  • Kumara School
  • Lake Brunner School
  • Matai School
  • Maruia School
  • Motueka High School
  • Motueka South School
  • Nelson Central School
  • Nelson College for Girls
  • Nelson College for Girls Prep School
  • Paparoa Range School
  • Parklands School (Motueka)
  • Paroa School (Greymouth)
  • Reefton Area School
  • Riwaka School
  • Ross School
  • Runanga School
  • Sacred Heart School (Reefton)
  • South Westland Area School
  • St Canice’s School (Westport)
  • St Joesph’s School (Nelson)
  • St Mary’s School (Hokitika)
  • St Patrick’s School (Greymouth)
  • St Paul’s School (Richmond)
  • Tapawera Area School
  • Tasman Bay Christian School
  • Tasman School
  • Upper Moutere School
  • Waimea College
  • Wairau Valley School (Blenheim)
  • Wakefield School
  • Westland High School
  • Westport North School
  • Westport South School
  • Whataroa School

Early learning centres closed includes:

  • Granity/Ngakawau Playcentre
  • Westport Kindergarten
  • Westport Playcentre
  • Reefton Early Learning Centre
  • Kawatiri Kids
  • Westport Early Learning Centre
  • KidsFirst Kindergarten (Greymouth)
  • KidsFirst Kindergarten (Karoro)
  • Active Explorers (Hokitika)
  • Active Explorers (Nelson St)
  • Active Explorers (Shakespeare St)
  • Harper Park Early Learning Centre
  • PORSE Nelson/Marlborough/West Coast
  • The Children’s House (Greymouth)
  • The Children’s House (Hokitika)
  • Busy Bees
  • KidsFirst Glacier Country ELC
  • Learning Land
  • Rutherford St Kindergarten

Source: NZ Herald


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here