Name: Laura Farr

Age: 35

City/town: Tauranga

What’s your job? Programme tutor for PORSE [in-home childcare services]. 

How did you get into this line of work? I was working in ECE centres and I was really enjoying that but I was always way too busy looking after kids and I thought there must be better ways to look after little ones. So I did some research around how I think and feel children should learn, found PORSE and now I work here.

What does a typical working day look like for you? Every day is really different for me. Most days I spend visiting home educators and helping them with their programmes, helping them meet their Health and Safety requirements, running play schools and music groups, being out in the community meeting mums and helping them find educators who are the best fit for them and their children.

What qualifications or training did you need? I have a Bachelor of Primary School Teaching and a graduate diploma in Early Childhood Education. I also have a Level 5 in Coaching Adult Learns, although that’s not a requirement for my job.

What are the best bits about your job? I love supporting women and helping women grow their businesses, and helping them support their families too. I love working with little people and watching them grow and develop. A lot of the time I will meet children when they are babies and see them grow right up to when they go to school. It’s lovely being a part of their early learning years. 

What are the worst bits? Most teachers would say they’d prefer to spend more time with the children and a little less time on paperwork. Other than that it’s a really cool job. 

What’s your biggest career goal? I love the role that I’m in. I hope to continue working alongside my educators and tamariki. I’m currently working towards supporting all of my educators to gain their Level Four Certificates in Early Childhood Education. 

If you weren’t doing this job, what would you most likely be doing? I’d be a primary school teacher.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here